RSS

You should see the other guy…

10 Apr

So far, so good.  The follow up stuff has become a bit of a hassle just as the rest of it was, but I’m taking it in stride.  I’m not willing to get stressed out over stupid little stuff that will get worked out in its own time.  I’m in good spirits and a little bit of pain.  Not too bad over all.

I got my sutures out yesterday.  The nurse put steri-strips over the scar immediately afterward, so I didn’t get to see it.  They just look like white tape and will come off on their own in about a week.  She said that there’s about a cup of fluid in the area where my thyroid used to be.  The initial rush of fluid was drained through two holes in my neck and the light suction of a spring loaded contraption.  Gross.  It was to avoid infection, but it was kind of weird to see.  Anyway, she said the fluid is normal and it will be re-absorbed by my body over the next few weeks and that is what is causing the swelling and that too will go down over the next few weeks.  At times, it feels as though I have an air bubble in my throat, the kind that hurts.  It’s just the fluid pressing on my trachea and that will also dissipate.

Right now, it looks like there’s a worm taped to my throat.  I understand that it will take about six months before the scar flattens out and becomes less red, but I think I liked the Frankenstein stitches better….  Made me want to say “you should see the other guy” to people who stare when I pass by.

My new medication routine consists of taking a synthroid pill from the refrigerator each night before bed and putting it in a little cup on my night stand next to my big hospital jug of water.  Then, when I wake up, which has been anywhere from 7-9am, I take the pill and go back to sleep.  By the time I get up, it’s been at least an hour and I can eat or drink my breakfast.  Been going with green smoothies the last couple of days.  Lots of vitamins and phyto-nutrients to get my body on track towards healing.  I’m also counting on the cleansing properties of the greens to help with all the drugs that have been pumped through my body in the last week: who knows what kind of anesthesia, morphine, oxycodone, acetamenophen, stool softeners, blood thinners…

Here’s the recipe for my green smoothie, it’s super cleansing, yet palatable:

  • 1 small frozen banana
  • 2-3 big kale leaves without the stalks
  • 1-2 stalks of celery including leaves at the top
  • 1/2 c. parsley
  • 1 c. frozen, mixed berries
  • 2 oz. aloe juice
  • 1c. cold, purified water
  • 1 Tb. chia seeds

It takes some effort to get the greens blended in.  I find if you put most of the heavy stuff on the bottom, it can get a good enough start that it sucks the greens right in.  My boyfriend says it tastes like bark, but my mom and I both enjoy it.  I know it sounds horrible, but it’s kind of fresh and tart, and if you’re like me, just thinking of why it’s so good for you is enough to enjoy drinking it.  You can add about half a cup of juice to make it a little easier to take.  Apple cider works nicely.

That’s the news so far.  I still find it difficult to imagine going back to work after only one week.  Even to a desk job.  My neck gets tired of holding my head up and though I can turn it to the side, I couldn’t turn it as far or as fast as driving necessitates.  I’ve been getting better each day, whether it’s walking further without getting fatigued or being able to lift myself up from bed without supporting my head.  Today felt like a plateau day, but I’m going to go walk a mile and see how I feel after that.  I am making progress though, and that’s how I intend to continue.

 

 

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “You should see the other guy…

  1. ktchason

    April 13, 2012 at 9:34 am

    Synthroid in the fridge? You lost me on that one. 🙂 Never heard of that.

     
    • houffenglaarfert

      April 13, 2012 at 5:22 pm

      Yeah, Karen. Apparently, synthetic thyroid hormone degrades pretty readily with heat exposure. My apartment is not very well insulated, and my cabinets are all over the stove, so I just keep it in the fridge. I think I read it in The Thyroid Sourcebook.

       

Leave a Reply

 
