RSS

Quick update – over the first hurdle.

08 Apr

Just a quick update.  I’m told the surgery went quite smoothly.  I’ll give details later, but I came home yesterday a little later than anticipated due to a mix up with the lab work being entered into the computer with my calcium numbers.  I finally got a good night’s sleep last night.  I took a walk around the block today.  I’m able to eat solid food.  Had oat groats for breakfast.  Still crushing up the pain pills because it does hurt to swallow.

The site on either side of the three inch incision is what hurts, where the drain tubes were.

I get my stitches out tomorrow, but don’t worry, I took pictures.  It’s very Frankenstein-ish.  It looks like I’m wearing a shiny red and black necklace.  When you get up close, it looks like there are lips sewn shut on my neck.  The surgeon told me not to freak out when I saw it because he does this kind of sewing technique that not many people know how to do and his minimal scars are one of his bragging points.  It doesn’t quite seem real to me yet, so it’s more fascinating than anything.

Forgive my scattered post.  I wish I could write with coherent, complete thoughts, but unfortunately, that’s not how my brain is working due to the pain medication (let’s assume).  I seem to be moving right along as far as feeling better, though when I sit up straight or stand, it feels as though there’s a five pound weight hanging from my incision.  As if my neck is sewn too tight.  I can’t tilt my head back, but I assume that will improve when I get my sutures out and as time passes.  It is hard for me to imagine that some people return to work after just one week…

That’s all for now.  I can’t do anything for too long without a break, but I imagine that will improve quickly as well.  In good spirits over all, so that’s good.  I had the best mashed sweet potato of my life last night.  I think that’s why.  Don’t even get me started on what they tried to feed me in the hospital.  I read the labels.  It’s a damn shame.  Plenty to post about later.  Glad I’m over the first hurdle.

Thank you everyone for your support and encouragement through this important first step.

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Quick update – over the first hurdle.

  1. Julie Blackwelder

    April 8, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    Glad to hear things are going well. Thanks for the update as I was wondering how you were doing and how things went.

    One of my friend’s co-workers had the same surgery, the same day. The similarities between the two of you is what got me to following you. She is doing well, BUT her doc immediately started her on 100 mcg of synthroid. She is having symptoms of too much meds, including heart palpatations. My friend (who is also a thyroid patient – on Synthroid but still has her thryoid, just not functioning well) told her not to take any more, and call her doc in the morning.

    Which brings me to a question … what have they said to you about meds? Synthroid or natural thyroid?

     
    • houffenglaarfert

      April 9, 2012 at 12:15 am

      They started me on 112mcg of Synthroid. The Endocrinologist who wrote my prescription said that based on my weight, I could go with 100mcg, but rather than re-write the prescription, I should just not take it on Sundays. My Endo who I’ve been going to for the last six years left a note in my file to put me on either 112 or 125.

      Basically what they do is start you off at 5mcg per kg of body weight and then test levels after 6-8 weeks and adjust as necessary. It takes several weeks for the hormone from your thyroid that’s already in your blood stream to leave your system, so if she had high levels going into the surgery, it’s more likely that her symptoms are related to that than just a couple days of hormone replacement.

      I’ve only been on it for two days so far, so we’ll see how it goes. I know what hyper symptoms to look out for as I’m well versed after six years of dealing with it. So far, so good. Apparently I had a few palpitations during the actual surgery, but I’m sure that was from the actual manipulation of the gland itself.

      My Endocrinologist does not prescribe Naturethroid. I realize it’s considered the natural alternative, but it’s also an outdated treatment. Synthetic replaced pig hormone about 30 years ago. There’s a book called the Thyroid Sourcebook by Sara Rosenthal that explains why synthetic hormone is more reliable. It is a bit more on the conventional medicine side, but the explanations are easy to understand. It gives the basic science behind the way T3 & 4 work in the body.

      Sorry if that’s sort of a convoluted reply. I took my pain meds an hour ago and I have a bit of a short span of activity before I need to rest and I’m also ready to go to sleep… Hope that made sense.

       

Leave a Reply

 
